Is Twitter of Any Use? Two Case Studies

When I first discovered Twitter, I just didn’t get it! I couldn’t figure out why so many people would be addicted to sending 140 character messages about what they were doing. BORING was the only thing that came to mind. What a ridiculous waste of time, right?

Well, maybe not.

I decided to dive head first into Twitter to see what it was all about and how to use it to help my business and the businesses of those I teach.

The results have impressed me! These case studies don’t directly relate to birth but I think they will give you ideas of how powerful twittering can be.

Case Study #1. Alderox. My neighbor owns a company called Alderox. They developed a chemical that is sprayed on mining equipment. The spray prevents the Ore from sticking to the trucks and the mining company gets about 10% more ore. Perhaps this is a bad description but hey – not my industry.

Anyway, I told him about Twitter. You can see his twits at http://www.twitter.com/alderox.

He decided to start twittering about 4 times a day. He would report on new mines that they shipped to, potential new clients, new applications, new products, etc.

This had two major impacts on his business. First, his stockholders stopped bothering him/the company with phone calls wanting an update on what was happening. He told them to just look at twitter. So in essence, he saved a lot of time with phone calls.

Second, somehow a bunch of dirt race car drivers found out about it because of twitter and started buying product. They hadn’t thought about marketing to that market before. (the cars get muddy and slow down without the Alderox product).

I shouldn’t take the credit for him using twitter. Months ago his wife, Karen, who owns a marketing compnay recommended that I look at social networking. It is because of her that I tried Facebook and Twitter.

Case Study #2 – RJM Music Technology. RJM Music Techology. RJM Music is my husband’s company. I decided to twitter for him. I also started adding follows by first following others that I thought might be interested in us. How did I do that? Well, at the bottom of the screen is a “search” link. I would search on key terms like pedals, effects, guitars etc.

It is a strange thing but when you follow someone, many times they will follow you too. They not only follow you but they look at your profile and if interested, they click on your link to your homepage.

Luckily I can see on google analytics how many people are referred from where. We get about two dozen hits a day everytime I start adding followers. We’ve had sales from it and it is free except for your time.

Ok, how would you use this in your business? Use the advanced search to find those in your areas who are talking about their pregnancy. Follow them. They will likely follow you.

One more tip. Make sure you twitter often with good information on your area of expertise. You’ll gain a following.

If you have successfully used Twitter to help attract more clients, please let us know. I’d love to highlight you and your story.

By the way, I can be found at http://www.twitter.com/sherimenelli and http://www.twitter.com/birthingbiz

Sheri Menelli
Director of The Birthing Business Institute
760-522-2829
http://birthingbusiness.com/workshops.htm
http://birthingbusiness.com/Ultimate/

June 8, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Business Tips, June 2009.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI